I decided to colourcode my shirts, which has worked perfectly. My closet used to be a mess and I'd just stuff all my clothes in. Now there's an indicator at the bottom of the shelf showing which colour goes into which pile. Janne has a completely different method of organising his T-shirts (we share a walk-in closet). I believe he has them in piles according to how many holes they have

1. Very many holes - can still be used at work (but why would you???)

2. Some holes, but otherwise still a nice T-shirt - can be used under something else

3. The ones in mint / near mint condition

When my clothes have holes I throw them away, but this guy has a hard time letting things go... Anyway, those are my knickers in the candy jars, also arranged by colour. I picked this tip up from some magazine I read at the gym.